Monday, July 4, 2022

Review - Canter With a Killer

Canter With a Killer is a new cozy mystery I’ve just had the pleasure of reading. Published by Crooked Lane Books, debut author, Amber Camp, set her novel in northwest Arkansas at a horse rescue which is a new and different location for a cozy mystery and a welcomed change of pace. 

From the back cover: 

Perfect for fans of Amanda Flower and Mollie Cox Bryan, Amber Camp’s debut novel will have you galloping through the pages, as a horse rescue owner races to find a killer and clear her name.

Mallory Martin left her marriage and her unfulfilling job to move back to her hometown of Hillspring, Arkansas, and start a horse rescue. It’s everything she’s been missing, with paddocks of happy horses and one very quirky donkey. But when her cantankerous neighbor and longtime critic, Albert Cunningham, is found murdered in his fancy show barn, Mallory becomes suspect number one. Since Sheriff Grady Sullivan is ignoring all good sense and focusing only on Mallory, she decides to take matters into her own hands.

Aided by her best friend, Lanie, and rescue volunteer Tanner, Mallory races headlong into the investigation in search of the real killer. But horses and murder aren’t the only thing on her mind when she meets Albert’s handsome son, Braydon. Sparks fly, and soon she’s got a new boyfriend. But there’s a case to be solved, and she redoubles her efforts to learn the truth.

The suspects mount quickly. There’s Albert’s girlfriend, Kathleen, who was on the farm when he was murdered; organic farmer Heather Rogers, who accused Albert of contaminating her creek; and Philip Atwood, who’d been trying for a right-of-way across Albert’s farm. None of the evidence is holding up though, and Mallory learns that she'll need to take the reins on this investigation if she's going to clear her own name

From my Goodreads review

Canter with a Killer is the debut novel by Arkansas author Amber Camp. It’s a great whodunnit featuring Mallory, owner of a new horse rescue in NW Arkansas, who is accused of murdering her meddling neighbor who seems to be quite the crotchety old man.

I love starting a new series and getting to know all the various characters that I just know I’ll come to love along the way as new books are released. At her rescue are Ashley and Tanner, two volunteers who are almost loyal to a fault but who share her love for horses.

I also love that this book was set in a more unusual setting - a horse rescue - making it a welcome change of scenery from restaurants and coffee shops (or pet stores) that I often see in cozies. I look forward to reading more books by Camp.


Read more about author Amber Camp at her official website. Find more on Canter With a Killer at Goodreads - Barnes & NobleAmazon 

Take care and happy reading!

 - Heather 


Instagram - @GrantsCrossing

Goodreads - H.M.S. Brown

Twitter - @GrantsCrossing




No comments:

Post a Comment

IT'S LIVE! Safe Now - Heroes of Grant's Crossing Book 2 is LIVE!

Safe Now, Heroes of Grant's Crossing Book 2 is officially live!  Some secrets can’t be kept. Some people can’t be protected.  Some broth...